Navigation Courses, Climbing Courses & Outdoor Adventures

Hillwalking & Navigation, Climbing, Caving. Courses & Expeditions, Peak District. Derbyshire

Reviews

Here is a list of all of our recent customer reviews. All of them infact since the birth of our new website. We only edit spelling mistakes and do we upload every single bit of feedback that we get. No censorship here, what you see is what you get.

 

Since 2014 all of our reviews are now via Tripadvisor. Click here to see up to date reviews.

 

Halina Pruchnicki

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

March 14th, 2015

Brilliant Experience!

Have just completed the weekend Beginners Navigation and it was fantastic. I was starting as a complete novice and by the end of the two day course I feel I have been given a good solid foundation in the basic points of navigation. Our instructors Tom and Gavin were both so professional and so enthusiastic about their subject that it really brought it to life for me and instilled me with the same infectious enthusiasm. I will be booking another course very soon. Thank you

Ian Johnstone

Advanced Navigation Course | Gold Nnas Training

January 29th, 2015

Advanced Navigation Course - Excellent!!

I had a very enjoyable and instructive weekend in December 2014. The course was well organised and the instructor (Stephen) clearly knows his stuff and is a very good teacher. On both days we spend the vast majority of the time outside which was what I was hoping for and the night navigation was an eye opener (in a good way). At the end of the course there was a personal debrief on any areas that needed attention before booking an assessment. The cost is very reasonable and I thoroughly recommend this course.

Paul Carter

Private Booking

September 02nd, 2013

Caving with Adam!

Yesterday (1/9/13) we were taken for a tour of some of the highlights of Giants Hole by our instructor, Adam. My partner, daughter (15) and son (19) had a fantastic experience. We were educated, thrilled, stretched (but not overstretched) and really well taken care of. The level Adam selected for us was perfect and I would recommend the experience to anyone wishing to sample the delights and challenges of caving with a guide who really knows his stuff. Thankyou for a great day. Paul Carter

Danny Obrien

Beginner Climbing Course

August 31st, 2013

Beginner climbing course 24 and 25 August

Gavins instruction was excellent. We had 2 full, informative and active days despite the heavy rain on the first morning . The course was very good value for money, covering rope work, abseiling, footwork on different levels of climbs in different areas . We did some bouldering on the second afternoon with instruction on how to improve balance. Overall it was a really enjoyable weekend and I came away having learned a lot. Will definitely be back for more. Danny

Lynda Barker

Learn To Lead Climb Course (3 Day)

August 29th, 2013

Gaining confidence and skills - Learn to Lead Climb

There were three of us on this course with a wide range of experience in terms of climbing and age. Guy ensured throughout that he challenged all of us including skills which will keep us and others safe. He recognised the different personalities in the group and took these into account when planning the activities and developments each day. We all had clear aspirations for the course - all were met - we were all leading independently and have learnt not only how to lead climb, but how to set up top/ bottom belays, to set up an abseil and how to climb using one and two ropes.This is the second course I have attended through Pure Outdoor and would recommend the company without hesitation.

Adrian Gostelow

Beginner Climbing Course

August 28th, 2013

Beginner Climbing

I would recommend Pure Outdoor to anyone wanting to improve their mountain/climbing skills. The quality of instruction is first class from instructors who have great knowledge, experience and passion for what they do. Guy and his team provide a welcoming and sociable environment together with plenty of encouragement to achieve your goals and do so with great success!

Richard Boardley

Beginner Climbing Course

August 26th, 2013

What a good way to spend a weekend

Despite the soggy first morning resulting in a bit of a slow start and longish drive over to Windgather, this was a really enjoyable and useful weekend - I've been testing out some of the footwork techniques at the local indoor wall today to good effect, especially more confidence on small footholds through getting more rubber on them and better balance. Gavin was a star, reading the mix of people quickly and accurately, and he was very well complemented by Adam on the bouldering session at Burbage on the Sunday morning - technique and balance on the grit. Thanks guys, a great course!

Craig Langman

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

June 21st, 2013

A fun day learning exactly what we went for.

My father and I did the one day Navigation course. We had a really enjoyable day in a beautiful setting, learning basic map reading and compass navigation in a practical way that enabled us to really understand the principles and practice them until the techniques really sank in. Guy was a great trainer and made the day fun and fascinating at the same time. Highly recommended and many thanks to Guy and all at Pure Outdoor.

Margaret Horner

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

June 04th, 2013

Great two days

Great two days. Learnt a lot and am now much more confident when planning and undertaking a walk. Lovely surroundings and Neil, our instructor was very friendly and extremely helpful - and the cake was good too! Thoroughly recommend this course

Haydn Wood

Beginner Climbing Course

May 23rd, 2013

Private guided 1-1 Rock Climbing

I would like to thank the staff at pure outdoor for a thoroughly enjoyable day. I was taken climbing by Guy,who was supportive and put me at ease whilst also pushing me to achieve more than I initially thought I was capable of.I was very confident in his capabilities and felt he planned and structured the day effectively, giving me maximum opportunity to climb on different areas using different techniques.He also summarised the session with clear advice and instruction on how I could continue to improve in the future and recommended places local to me where I could put this into practice. I cannot speak highly enough of the pure outdoor team, and I would deffinatly like to return myself and recommend friends . I hope to eventually enrol on the instructor training scheme in March. Thank you very much

Michael Baron

Beginner Climbing Course

May 14th, 2013

Fantastic Weekend

Simply the best possible introduction to the world of climbing. Both Gavin and Neil were extremely knowledgeable, skilled and friendly, inspiring confidence in their teaching. They knew exactly how to push me in just the right way for me to get the most out of the experience without wussing out too often. Their clear love of the sport is incredibly contagious, so much so that I am now joining Leeds Climbing wall and also planning my next adventure with these chaps. Having never climbed before this weekend, and being pretty scared of heights, Gavin and Neils expert approach had me climbing things that looked completely impossible just a day earlier. Cheers guys - absolute legends!

Janet Bliss

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

May 07th, 2013

Great learning experience

Really impressed with Guy's facilitation skills; simple/informative powerpoint presentation, clear instructions on day one which enabled us to go out in the 'wild' and practice those skills. Day two reinforced those skills and built on our confidence level.

Frank Murphy

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

April 28th, 2013

Beginner Navigation 13/04/2013

Excellent course. Neil made me feel very comfortable from the outset. As a novice I wasn't sure what I would get from the course. I now feel confident to lead a walk with the additional confidence to go off trek to explore more points of interest that I would have missed in the past. Great thanks Neil.

Richard Leggett

Beginner Climbing Course

April 23rd, 2013

Rock On

What a weekend! Went in a novice... came out a beginner feeling like a pro! A great experience in a great place, made even better by the instructors who are all friendly, laid back and there to answer any questions, offer support and plenty give plenty of encouragement when half way up the crag and remembering that you are scared of heights. You push through, you get to the top and you feel an overwhelming sense of achievement and the need to do it again and do it better. Really nice office and tutoring space. We went to two locations over the two days, both lovely. We averaged around six climbs each in a day and the same number again for skills required when not climbing. We touched on intermediate level skills and were climbing whatever we felt we were capable of (with the instructors advise). On the last day our motley crew was climbing a grade 'very difficult' as beginners! I enjoyed it so much, I am going back there this weekend to do the Intermediate Climbing Course. As a bolt on I am also hoping to be able to take part in a Learn To Lead Climb Course, which will mean I can get out there and put my new found hobby and skills to good use. I strongly recommend this as a hobby to anyone. Pure Outdoor are a very good way to open the door as they have a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with us all.

Graham Bowen

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

April 05th, 2013

Beginner Navigation Bronze Course

This course was excellent, covering all you need to enjoy a day on the hills, with the confidence of knowing where you are; The instructors Andy and Neil passed on their wisdom in an excellent way that kept you informed and interested at all times. I've just been out in Snowdonia to test out my newly acquired navigational skills and found that I looked at things in a totally different perspective than I did before the course (and never got lost might I add). So thanks very much for a highly enjoyable couple of days in your company and will 100% be joining you for the intermediate course soon. Graham

Mark Jones

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

March 18th, 2013

finding the path

I have just come off the 2 day basic navigation course and enjoyed every second - the 2 walks, though challenging for me were very enjoyable. The course itself was well delivered by both Guy and Neil and at the end of it I am now confident in navigation and map reading and look forward to building on those skills.

Ross Spacey

Outdoor Rock Climbing Taster Day

March 18th, 2013

Wish I lived closer

I had a great day on my first ever rock climbing experience and really wish I lived closer to the Pure Outdoor centre so that I would be able to use it regularly. Small close knit groups with an instructor using clear concise commands enabled us to spend a great day at Yarncliffe Quarry with the whole group making several ascents. Overall I will certainly be back at some point and will probably bring the whole family to have a go. Thanks John & Co for a great day.

Alexander Bergin

Winter Skills Course (Week)

March 08th, 2013

Winter Skills Week (on behalf of me + 1)

The week-long Winter Skills course was my second course with Pure Outdoor and was, again, superb. Our instructor, Liam, made it a really enjoyable week and we learned a great deal. We had loads of time to practice all the skills, so we left feeling confident that we could really apply them on the mountain, rather than just know the theory behind what we should be doing. I'd recommend this course to everyone other than the most experienced winter walkers, as it will allow you to operate a lot more safely in the hills and enjoy your time there all the more because of that.

Collette Kallee

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

February 10th, 2013

BRILLIANT!!

Great course, REALLY enjoyed it. Great instruction and very well lead, great location too; Very interpersonal from enquiry to actual attendance, therefore made to feel very welcome and profesionalism maintained throughout. Catered for all levels and got more out of it than expected, will be back soon for my next course :)

John Pusey

Outdoor First Aid Course (8hr 1 Day)

January 23rd, 2013

Excellent course

Great day, informative and well presented. Best first aid course I have ever done and Rick was a great instructor. If you are looking for a first aid course you wont find better.

Matthew Shaw

Winter Skills Course (Weekend)

January 23rd, 2013

5* Weekend of Winter Skills!

Superb weekend with Pure Outdoor! The course was structured really well with great information, new skills, tips, all delivered in a friendly and very knowledgeable environment. Weather was truly a Scottish winter experience but that's just what we needed. Course covered basic navigation, avalanche avoidance/awareness, ice axe and crampon skills, snow holes/shelters, loads of tips on kit, techniques and much more. Highly recommended for anyone looking to safely venture a little further into the hills in winter.

Justin Meighan

Winter Skills Course (Week)

January 18th, 2013

A great 5 days spent in the Cairngorms

We recently completed the 5 day Winter Skills Course in the Cairngorms. I cannot fault the instruction or course material at all. The course was expertly delivered, providing knowledge and leadership when required to ensure the course was informative and exciting. As we moved around the mountains each day Neil would spot and speak about features or changing weather that greatly effects winter walking, and is something I would not have considered when hiking the same route in summer. I would strongly recommend doing the 5 day course, as the 4th and 5th days are used to practice and hone the skills that have been delivered earlier in the course. It was great to have a full day out and encounter areas of the course we had covered, now knowing the best approach for the terrain or the action to take in a situation. This course has removed any fear or hesitation I had in the past when considering a day out winter mountaineering. I would highly recommend Pure Outdoor and I am currently working up the courage to book a Winter Climbing Course with Pure Outdoor :)

Gerard Lynch

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

November 26th, 2012

Excellent Course

Attended the course in November 2012 with the aim of buidling on the basic skills gained on the Beginners Course. The instructor (Neil) was first class in approach. His mix of knowledge, skill transfer, encouragement and hill selection made the two days hugely valuable and great fun. I now have far more confidence about the topography aspects of navigation, route selection and hill skills to go along with the basic tools. Looking forward to the next time.

Mo Grigg

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

November 07th, 2012

Brilliant Introduction to Navigation

The course exceeded all that I hoped to gain from this course and has given me the confidence I needed to plan and undertake my own walks. Neil was a brilliant leader/instructor. He was very clear in his teaching and patient whilst we practiced. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone.

Ruth Watson

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

October 19th, 2012

What a Fantastic Weekend!

There was a really friendly welcome on arrival. Neil and Gavin introduced themselves and soon the group was breaking the ice by introducing themselves to each other. Neil explained the skills very well, and made it all seem so easy. Reinforcing it out on the hillside was very helpful doing pacing, timing etc. The second day Gavin took the remaining few of us and again he was so patient and kind; a wonderful teacher. I have learned so much over the 2 days and can't wait for this weekend when I've planned to go for a local walk with a map to reinforce what I learned last weekend. All being well I shall be back next year to do my silver award.

Andrew Morrison

Mountain Skills Course

October 01st, 2012

Mountain Skills - Just Do It

Real top notch. My biggest thanks to Carl, Neil and Guy for sharing their expertise. These guys are not just real professionals, but have a spot-on ability to instruct, and pass on their knowledge in a way that’s approachable and memorable. As well as great fun, they delivered everything I could wish for to navigate independently, and a whole heap more. And all done in the jaw-dropping beauty of The Peaks and Wales. Simply perfect. I’ll be back for the Gold level as soon as I can.

Ross Taylor

Mountain Skills Course

September 30th, 2012

Soggy but brilliant week

We stated the week with glorious weather in the Peaks. Carl taught us so much that even after the first day I wouldn't have made some of the mistakes I made on Cairn Gorm last year. On the second day we went out with Neil and put some of those skills into practice. Both Carl, Neil were extremely knowledgeable, very good teachers, using examples and real-world scenarios to explain things where necessary. Then we went to soggy Wales with Guy. It didn't stop raining the whole time we were there. On day one we climbed the north face of Tyrfan, a grade one scramble that was pretty tough in the wet, but good fun. Guy taught us some basic techniques for navigating where a map isn't much help. The next day we started out on our expedition in the rain & wind. It would have been easy to just put our heads down & trudge because of the weather but all the time Guy was teaching, making us use the techniques we had learned. We set up camp, the plan being to have lunch then practice some more navigation, with a night nav later on, but the weather was so bad we stayed in our tents for several hours. That evening, as a group we decided that a night nav back to the car park and a night in the bunkhouse was preferable to another 12 hours in the tent. Guy showed us night nav, a couple more advanced techniques, how to ford a river and all the time made sure that we were navigating rather than just walking. All in all, the course was excellent. It would have been nicer had the weather been better, but practicing the skills we learned in adverse conditions is far better experience than doing it in the sun - I'll be back for more...

Carla Nathan

Stok Kangri Expedition 2012

September 24th, 2012

Awesome!!

An excellent and incredible experience. This trip covered all bases - sight seeing in Delhi and Agra for a couple of days then onto Leh to acclimatise before the big trek to Stok Kangri. India being India, there were a few issues that arose during the trip but Paul and Guy were completely professional throughout and managed to smooth the way with as little disruption to the group as possible. The hotels were chosen with care and consideration and were perfect for our group. For the trek itself I felt very prepared having been on the training weekend a couple of months prior, to meet the group and have any questions answered. Everything was covered from equipment to altitude. Guy was always on hand to answer further questions by email or phone. A lot of the essential equipment for the trek was provided for us which was a great help with cost and long haul luggage weight. The knowledge of the Trek route and the care and attention given to each group member was outstanding. I felt I was in very safe hands throughout. This was a thoroughly enjoyable experience thanks to the preparation and expertise of the leaders. I will most definitely be booking with Pure Outdoor again!

Simon Bunce

Stok Kangri Expedition 2012

September 20th, 2012

Stok Kangri

Great professional approach to trekking/climbing a mountain at altitude, where safety was of prime importance. Very well organised with ample time to acclimatize. An exciting and challenging expedition highly recommended.

Mark Davis

Beginner Climbing Course

September 18th, 2012

An excellent introduction to Rock Climbing

My girlfriend and I went on this course in Sept 2012. We were initially attracted as it seemed excellent value (although I believe the price has gone up since then) and the maximum ratio of 6:1 was good. Neither of us had any previous rock climbing experience, but we were made to feel we were in safe hands with our instructor (Neil). He gave us a good safety briefing and we were shown how to get harnessed and tie ourselves to the rope securely (which Neil checked of course). They chose a good spot based on the volatile weather forecast and we carried out a number of different climbs which were the ideal mix of challenge and difficulty without ever feeling it was beyond our capabilities or unsafe in any way. All in all we had a superb, challenging and hugely enjoyable day and an instructor who was patient and knowledgeable. We would certainly recommend Pure Outdoors and this course to anyone who was thinking of trying out rock climbing. We'll definitely be coming back for more.

Marion Atkinson

Beginner Climbing Course

August 20th, 2012

Fantastic Weekend

Had a lot of fun and learnt a lot! We were first taught how to climb and belay safely so we could get on with climbing and trying out the variety of routes set up while the instructors went round helping. We did some more techniques the following day and got to try out a different site, though we were forced indoors in the afternoon due to a midge attack. It was enjoyable and interesting to try out bouldering. In addition the company were friendly and happy to give lifts locally to make the weekend easy to do on public transport from London without taking time off work. Thank you!

Katy Denniff

Beginner Climbing Course

August 08th, 2012

Fun and Challenging

Attended the course last weekend and had a fantastic time in a beautiful environment. The instructors (Neil and Andy) were great and attentive - allowed us to find our own way if we could, coming in with tips on routes and technique if we were stuck. I'm really keen to continue learning to climb and hope to book on to the improvers course in the future. I'd highly recommend it.

Jo Terry

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

August 07th, 2012

Contours:check

This was an excellent course headed by a patient leader who was very good at describing things and setting the right pace of learning for the group. There were 5 in the group, which made it easy to ask questions and also small enough to get to know each other. I learnt so much & I came away with much more than I expected. A thoroughly enjoyable day. Thanks so much! Would totally recommend the course to other novice map readers.

Yasmin Rana

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

August 07th, 2012

This course exceeded my expectations.

This course exceeded my expectations...There were people within the group who had basic navigation knowledge but I went from never having picked up a map to now being able to plan routes and get out and enjoy the great outdoors without fear of being 'misplaced'... I will be back to do the silver and gold without doubt.

Andrew Limb

Beginner Climbing Course

August 06th, 2012

Happy customer

I just wanted to thank Neil and Andy for a great Beginners Climbing Course over 4-5 August 2012. Both were really knowledgable and really good at teaching climbing to a group of total beginners of mixed ability. They made both days great fun and the course provided a really inspirational grounding in first climbing principles. I recommend the instructors and the company highly to anyone looking for a professional yet relaxed and enjoyable outdoors course.

Michelle Murray

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

July 27th, 2012

Bronze (Beginner) Navigation Course

A really good course and great introductory to map reading and navigation. I love looking at maps when out walking and had some basic skills, but this course enhanced them and taught me how to use a compass (which was always sat unused at the bottom of my rucksack). Great location in the dark Peak and not too long in the class room, plenty of hands on practice. The group size was great and everyone gets a turn to navigate. I'd recommend this course and this company to anyone. The instructors were informative and friendly. I'll definately be back in the future to do the silver course, and my partner and I are hoping to plan to attend one of the Mountain Skills courses in Snowdonia (...hopefully next year..). Great courses Pure Outdoor...keep it up :)

Chris Dronsfield

Beginner Caving Weekend

July 22nd, 2012

Review of beginners caving weekend.

Fantastic instructors on both days. Great course content in some spectacular caves. Well worth it. Highly recommended.

Rebecca Scott

Beginner Horizontal Caving Course

July 21st, 2012

Great fun with experienced instructor

Just got back from the caving experience. This is the 1st time I've done anything like this and it was fantastic. Would do it all over again. I felt for the tourists to the cave who'd paid to see the entrance only. With Pure Outdoor I felt I got excellent value for money when considering how deep and for how long the trip into the caves was. Instructor was fab too. Thanks guys for a safe, very memorable day.

Gavin Eyquem

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

July 16th, 2012

Right way in a day Navigation course

The Right-way-in-a-day navigation course was good fun but also a refresher of my navigation skill at a certain level. At first a slight feeling of uncertainty crept in but as soon as I arrived nothing but curiosity and wonder began. I met people who were serious but also good fun to be with so there was a decent balance of attitude in the group. I would like to say that our guide/teacher was fantastic and no matter how daft the question is/was he answered consisely. Thanks guys.

Trevor Brighton

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

June 12th, 2012

Beginner Navigation Course -Navigating in the rain

Spent a really enjoyable two days in windy and wet conditions on the Saturday but eventually with some blue sky on the Sunday. The course was really good and pitched at the right level. This was something I had promised to do for years and never got round to it and although we were all quite nervous to begin with Neil soon put us all at rest and quickly got us talking about ourselves and contributing to the day. I think he got the instruction and the walking just right on the first day despite the heavy rain at times and by the Sunday we were all quite competently looking at routes and planning our journey for the day. I have no hesitation in recommending this to any beginner or seasoned walker who has wanted to get to grips with map reading etc but never got around to it. Can't wait to plan my first route this weekend and I definitely intend to book on the next level.

Jamie Tait

The Cuillin Ridge

May 11th, 2012

Amazing weekend in Skye

It was definitely a case of third time lucky with our guided attempt at the Cuillin ridge, having had two trips frustratingly postponed in 2011 because of very high winds. Our ideal scenario was to complete a two-day traverse with bivi, but due to the freezing conditions over the weekend, we agreed with Jon, our guide, it would make for a very uncomfortable night’s sleep (or lack of). So at 8am on Friday morning we left Glenbrittle campsite with a new plan of completing the ridge over three days, and were soon making our way up Coir a' Ghrunnda. Friday turned out to be a huge success, as although cold and windy at times, we had great visibility and made excellent progress along the ridge, with hardly a sole in sight. By 6pm we’d completed the first eight munros, and made our way back to the car after a day that had far exceeded our expectations. Although the legs were a bit stiff on Saturday morning, we were walking again by 9am and had a nice route up to the ridge, via the waterpipe gully and over the Spur of Sgurr an Fheadain. Saturday turned out to be more technically challenging than the first day, with more scrambling, climbing and abseiling, however 8 hours later we were standing at the top of Sgurr nan Gillean, the last munro on the ridge, with fantastic views of what we’d accomplished over the past 2 days. Without doubt it was the most exciting walk we’d ever done, with countless memories to look back on. After a slightly longer lie-in on the Sunday we decided to tackle the Cioch, and despite some snow flurries making for trickier conditions, we were again rewarded with some wonderful views. Jon was a brilliant guide, and without his help, support, encouragement and motivation over the two days, we wouldn’t have been able to achieve what we did. We had three amazing days in Skye, and I can’t recommend the experience more highly.

Libby Clark

Winter Skills Course (Weekend)

May 03rd, 2012

Winter skills weekend in Scotland

What a fantastic weekend; We can't praise our instructor Liam enough for his patience and skills as a tutor. Whilst the conditions for winter walking were decidedly summery he put together a great weekend of activities for us and we all feel we were able to learn some great winter skills in addition to covering navigation and general hill skills. Plus the added bonus of bagging a Munro and scrambling along Fiachall Ridge. We all learnt a great deal from the weekend and feel we now have the confidence to put these into practice when we are out in winter conditions in the future.

Phil Parrott

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

May 01st, 2012

Brilliant Weekend

This was a brilliant weekend for someone who loves maps, loves walking and who wishes to be able to navigate through the countryside. You learn to read a map properly so that you are able to equate the map and the ground and navigate using a compass and all of this within the stunning Peak District. If you are thinking about doing a navigation course, then this is for you.

Laura Macdonald

Jen&Amp;#39;S Hen Adventure

April 30th, 2012

Great for a hen do!

Pure Outdoors organised a great afternoon of activities for 14 of us on a hen do in April. We had a brilliant time climbing, abseiling and squeezing through gaps in boulders with our instructors Gav and Simon. Thanks Pure Outdoors for keeping us safe and entertained - it was brilliant fun and we'd definitely do it again!

Jessica Wiegand

Outdoor First Aid Course (16hr 2 Days)

April 30th, 2012

Outstanding

Needed (or felt I needed) this qualification as I spend a lot of time outside, often far away from immediate help if anything goes wrong. This course built up gently, taught me the techniques to deal with many different scenarios in the comfort of the classroom, then creating realism by adding stress and environmental pressure by doing exercises outside. Professionally taught, well-balanced information. I feel as confident as I ever will to deal with what's thrown at me. Highly recommended.

Alan Crutch

Beginner Vertical Caving Course

April 23rd, 2012

Vertical Caving - Try This

Now I am a complete novice and know next to nothing about either climbing or caving. When I have mentioned going on this course to others I have had some odd reactions; Too dark and too dirty said one ;too claustrophobic; said another (neither had ever been caving). In fact the experience was neither dark nor dirty or claustrophobic. Tiring, yes and very wet. Putting your body in odd positions like walking sideways and crawling on hands and knees now and again were interspersed with periods where you could walk almost upright. </br></br> We were led by Adam in his 'need to see to be believed' suit. He was wonderfully tolerant of a complete beginner such as me, and I am sure he tailored the 5+ hour trip through Giants Hole so it would not be beyond my capabilities. I don't think I would have won any fashion competition in my get-up of A bright yellow protective suit, very tight safety belt, helmet and lamp, and wellies with holes in (to let the inevitable water out) but they were all supplied from the back of the minibus </br></br> For me the highlights were the traverses (basically moving along an underground rockface clipped to a well secured rope.) I felt both safe and a sense of achievement as you have to do the moving yourself) and the abseiling down through an underground waterfall. For those that haven't done it abseiling is a completely controlled descent and certainly feels a lot safer than it looks. For me that was the highlight. </br></br> There are plenty of stops to catch your breath while Adam explains about the rocks fossils and minerals that leech out of the rocks to form weird shapes - not only standard pointed stalagtites and stalagmites but also thin layers creeping over the rock and even some mushroom shaped. There was also a lot of information about the caves themselves and how they have been formed.Some of the caves were cathedral like in size, others smaller and more intimate but all different and fascinating for someone who has not seen these things before. </br></br> There was a fair amount of water in many of the passages (there had been a lot of rain) but nothing more than knee high.I did a voluntary creep through a wet passage which I enjoyed but this was optional. </br></br> All in all I found this an enjoyable and at times exhillarating experience. I didn't enjoy trying to get up ladders but then I can make Mr Bean look co-ordinated and even I can see that getting the ladder wrapped round me three times while swinging on the rope back and forth through the waterfall while being hauled up by the safety rope is the sort of thing that would be popular on you-tube </br></br> I must stress that at all times I felt safe. The course was quite physically demanding but I am a, not particularly, fit 58 year old and managed it. The people were friendly and it was certainly one of the best days out I have had for a long time. Certainly more rewarding than parachute jumping! </br></br> </br></br> I wouldn't recommend it for people who are genuinely scared of heights or who don't like getting wet. I was drenched when I finished but this may have been due ,in part, to the ladder incident. Similarly I think to get the most out of it you need basic mobility and the fitness ability to complete a five mile hill walk. For everyone else get out there and try this. They also do a horizontal caving course (which they say is a bit gentler) but that would miss the waterfall so I am pleased I chose the vertical option.

Terri Bryan

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

April 03rd, 2012

Great Day and instruction

We already had some basic map reading skills but this day filled in all of the gaps and really built on our limited knowledge in a fun, engaging way. Guy kept the day interesting and informative and we have some &quot;gems&quot; to help us get lost less often! Can't recomend highly enough, great day.

Tamsin Arthur

Private Booking

April 02nd, 2012

Brilliant experience

We spent two days in the peak district rock climbing with pure outdoor and it was excellent. Having never had outdoor climbing experience before we were a little nervous but were encouraged every step of the way by our highly experienced guide Andy. His knowledge of the local area was fantastic and pure outdoor are clearly adaptable to cater for any level of ability. I would recommend the experience to anyone.

Andy Rayner

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

March 20th, 2012

Excellent Navigation Course

Attended a Navigation Course over the weekend of 10/11 March with three other participants. Course run by Neil who was very professional in his approach as well as friendly and understanding. Used local features to good effect including Kinder Scout. He certainly improved my knowledge and competency and I am now alot more confident with my new found skills. Also met Guy Wilson, who runs Pure Outdoor who was also very professional and I would have no hesttaion in recommending this company for outdoor activities. Well done.

Peter Becket

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

March 19th, 2012

Great weekend for skills and enjoyment

Mary and I found this to be a course that was exactly what we wanted to build our confidence in the use of map and compass. In our mid-60s we do a lot of walking, with the Coast2Coast to come, and this was ideal to support our skill development. The communication and organisation by Pure Outdoor was excellent throughout, the programme details and objectives clear. It was good to working with the group of 6 where we had similar levels of knowledge etc. and it was a supportive experience and made for an enjoyable two days. Another feature was learning through doing with both days providing good walks to learn, practice and demonstrate skills. A key feature was the leadership provided by Neil our instructor. Clear briefings and guidance combined with patience and understanding which may us feel comfortable with what we were learning. Additionally great to have the free tea/coffee at the centre and to be able to purchase some snack bars if desired. Mary and Peter

Ross Mcdonagh

Winter Skills Course (Week)

February 16th, 2012

Winter Skills Week of Awesome Ness!

Once again another amazing course from Pure Outdoor. Having attended a beginner navigation course with Pure Outdoor - after how well that course was ran, I didnt have to think of where to book my winter skills course. The course was well structured and the knowledge available from the instructors Andy, Guy and Liam is first class. Having different instructors on a few days i thought was great as I picked up tips and knowledge available from all three. I now feel confident that i can tackle the mountains in winter. On the fourth day we got to put all our skills we have learnt to the test, With a challenging hill climb in crampons and a ridge walk in harsh conditions. We covered every aspect needed throughout the course. Navigation, Ice axe arrest,emergency rope work and shelters...cutting steps. The list is endless. And if there was something we wanted to learn all we had to do was ask and the instructor would work it into a day which i really valued. Also Guy can be persuaded with a cuddle and Haribos. Management Response: Thanks Ross.... Haribos make the world go round - cuddles won't get you a free trip to Stok Kangri... but worth a go!

Keith Tolley

Beginner Horizontal Caving Course

February 01st, 2012

Horizontal Caving

Simon is excellent tutor, and good company. Only two of us on the course so plenty of individual attention, without being too intense. Good choice of cave too I thought. I definitely found it enjoyable and would like to do the vertical course at some point soon too. Only reason not a 5 is that finished about 2pm, and maybe we could have done say another hour (although that would certainly have been enough). Having said that with only two of us we got more individual attention than maybe would be usual. "Managers Note: Thanks for the feedback Keith, sorry that you feel the day was a little short. This was due to the fact there were only 2 of you on the course and a more intense and customised lower ratio course was delivered. Sorry this was not discussed at the time but we look forward to seeing you on the vertical caving course and we will certainly make up for it then. Regards - Guy."

Nicholas Wright-Turner

Winter Skills Course (Week)

January 21st, 2012

Winter Skills (Week)

A very good course! Well organised and run by Liam and Dan, I found it very interesting and worthwhile just a pity that the amount of snow was limited although this did not affect the course. Would recommend it to anyone.

Mike Butler

Winter Skills Course (Weekend)

January 19th, 2012

First Step in Mountaineering

Just a quick "Thank You" to your team Liam and Dan for a great weekend in Scotland. Had a great time with a terrific bunch of people expertly and professionally led by Dan up on the mountain. Learned a lot and only wish I could have stayed longer, but I think my knee had probably gone as far as it could. However, the skills I picked up will certainly be put to use. I feel a lot happier about venturing out on the mountains in snow. Also have a much better understanding of my capabilities and limitations. Hope the rest of the mob had a good few days more and didn't get lost. Do pass on my thanks and appreciation to them as well for their support. Many thanks again to all and will certainly recommend Pure Outdoor to anyone and everyone considering walking out onto the mountains, either for the first time or needing to brush up and extend their skills.

Joe Massey

Beginner Climbing Course

January 01st, 2012

Brilliant Day Out!

i went on this course a few months ago and have not got round to writing review. A fun day was had by all on this course which was over 2 days. The weather was great and the instructor was great, took us to some really good spots and had great local knowledge!

Stephen Barnes

Mountain Skills Course

December 08th, 2011

Mountain Skills Week...just book it!

If like me you want to move away from the guide book walks and want to learn to be able to walk and roam comfortably in your own knowledge then I cannot recommend this course highly enough. The experience put at your disposal by the instructors is immense yet is delivered in such a user friendly manner that is hardly feels like tuition at all. The low purposeful ratio of client to instructor ensures that all needs and levels of experience are looked after. I am so impressed that I've already booked two more other discipline courses with Pure Outdoor.

Alison Swales

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

December 08th, 2011

Beginner Navigation Course Review

I attended this 2 day Beginner Navigation Course course as complete novice. The course has given me some confidence and has equipped me with the necessary skills required for basic navigation. I now plan to put into practice what I have learned and soon hope to progress to the next stage with Pure Outdoor. The course was fun, relaxed and Guy was patient and encouraging as a tutor. A brilliant weekend, thanks and hope to see you in December on the Intermediate Course,

Natalie Felgate

Beginner Climbing Course

December 08th, 2011

Fantastic Weekend

Had a great time over the two day beginners course. Thanks to Karl and Andy who took care of us...learnt a lot and laughed a lot! Suprised how relaxed and safe we all felt as some of us had never climbed before - I'd recommend you guys to anyone, very professional but relaxed, we have all come home totally hooked and will be back for more!!! Thankyou...

Dave Boardman

Jebel Toubkal Moroccan Adventure

December 08th, 2011

Jebel Toubkal 2nd October trip

Excellent trip, well organised by Guy and Mustapha the local guide. Provided great encouragement and support on walk to summit. Food at Hotel in Imil was good quality and plenty of it. Hotel in Marrakech in good central location, clean and friendly. The only down point was missing out on the Orange stop on the way up, but redeemed himself on the way down.

Liam Snodden

Jebel Toubkal Moroccan Adventure

December 08th, 2011

Impressive....Again

Been on a few Pure Outdoor courses now and every time I am even more impressed with the high standard of courses set by Guy and the Pure Outdoor staff. The Jebel Toubkal adventure was a fantastic experience shared with some really great people. Everything about the course was planned brilliantly and was as happy as always with the level of organisaton of the course. Guy and Mostapha were excellent guides, very knowledgeable about the local area and safe passage through the mountains. The course was intense while in the mountains but energy levels were maintained with the delicious food - fed like a King! Overall... 10/10. Thanks Guy, Pure Outdoor and the fellow course attendees.

Alison Swales

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

December 07th, 2011

Feedback re Intermediate Navigation Course

This was an excellent course with a good balance of theory and practice. The material was delivered in such a way that was easy to understand and a good time was had by all. Now I plan to get lots of practice before going on to the next stage

Rick Lomas

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

December 04th, 2011

Silver NNAS Navigation Course

Great 2 days . . . . massively improved not only my compass skills but also improved my understanding of looking at the map and seeing a lot more information that i could use. Guy made it very easy and simple to follow. I will definitely be going onto the Gold course in the spring when they run them. Highly recommend this course.

Liam Snodden

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

December 04th, 2011

Great weekend

Another great weekend with Pure Outdoor. As always, knowledgeable instructors with a great teaching style... which is why I keep coming back. Thanks again Guy.

Ross Mcdonagh

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

November 27th, 2011

Fantastic two days

Me and my brother attended this course, The moment we got there we felt at ease, as the instructor andy was welcoming and the other course participants were like minded and we were all there to learn. On the first day we spent the majority of it outside in the lovely weather.....no sarcasm. We got through everything and at the end of the first day I left with such confidence i couldnt wait for day two. Day two we were with Guy, again welcoming and with a beard of wisdom. we got to put all we learnt into practice and plan a route. Andy and Guy are fantastic instructors, They are there to teach you but as i found out you can have plenty of banter with them. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to get out there and navigate. A brilliant two days.

Stephen Barnes

Outdoor First Aid Course (16hr 2 Days)

November 03rd, 2011

First choice for First Aid course

Having already attended a different disciplined course (navigation) with these guys I knew the standard would be very high indeed. I was not disappointed in the least. I had absolutely no medical knowledge whatsoever prior to this course but now feel very capable if I ever needed to be involved in a first aider required situation.The course content was immense and yet was delivered in such a structered, practical and demonstrative way that it all flowed in a logical and easy to follow manner. This is a real hands on course that was delivered by a consummate professional and I cannot recommend it highly enough..

Darran Cummings

Learn To Lead Climb Course (3 Day)

November 01st, 2011

You could not ask for more!

Recently moved to the Sheffield area to explore the Peaks as i have been a keen indoor climber for years and wanted to start enjoying some &#39;real&#39; rock. Guy managed to not only teach me everything i needed to know to lead climb safely but also gave us a guided tour of much of what the Peak district truly has to offer. A fantastic 3 days and i would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn from a true highly experienced &#39;local&#39; adventurer. It was just a shame i couldn&#39;t get the time off work to do the 5 day course :)

Liam Snodden

Jebel Toubkal Moroccan Adventure

October 14th, 2011

Impressive... Again

Been on a few Pure Outdoor courses now and every time I am even more impressed with the high standard of courses set by Guy and the Pure Outdoor staff. The Jebel Toubkal adventure was a fantastic experience shared with some really great people. Everything about the course was planned brilliantly and was as happy as always with the level of organisaton of the course. Guy and Mostapha were excellent guides, very knowledgeable about the local area and safe passage through the mountains. The course was intense while in the mountains but energy levels were maintained with the delicious food - fed like a King! Overall... 10/10. Thanks Guy, Pure Outdoor and the fellow course attendees.

Sheila Clarke

Learn To Lead Climb Course (3 Day)

September 27th, 2011

Three day Learn to Lead

Fantastic three days! This Guy knows his stuff and he's good at passing it all on in a relaxed informative way. I especially liked the way theory was combined with the hands on stuff, which demystified a lot of climbing jargon that can be confusing. Also found that visiting lots of different areas within the peaks helpful!Will definitely be going back for more.

Dave Slack

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

September 26th, 2011

Right way in a day course

I went on the 'right way in a day' course to learn the basics of navigation. The day was very informative but not in an in your face way. Very well presented and done in an easy to understand manner. Hardly any classroom tuition meant that you got straight out on the walk and learnt along the way. Great course for complete navigation novices.

Sean Handley

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

September 25th, 2011

Navigation

The course was great. Learned all the basics to get me going on my own. will be back for another course.

Phil Windsor

Outdoor First Aid Course (16hr 2 Days)

September 21st, 2011

First Aid Course

Probably the best first aid course I've been on. The instructor kept us engaged,challenging us, putting pressure on us like you would have in real situation. The role play defiantly helped solidify all the conceptions and how to apply them in different ways. The course was structured so you build a foundation at the beginning and kept adding to that foundation, so by the end the 3 most important parts of First Aid where very well practised. This was achieved by practising the basic skills every time new skills where added. I feel a lot more confident that ill be able to actually make a difference in the event of an emergency. Thanks for a great experience Pure Outdoor.

Todd Whatling

Beginner Climbing Course

September 19th, 2011

Awesome!!

I would highly recommend the beginner climbing course as it was a great way for me experience my first taste of outdoor climbing. Firstly, Guy the course director was excellent totally professional, yet felt like we were out climbing with mates for the weekend. On the first day we eased ourselves into things at windgather rocks, a great choice considering the weather, even managed to get some sunshine-nice one! Day 2 was memorable at the amazing stanage popular, managed to do some fantastically named climbs including a personal fave 'Christmas crack'.I'm defiantly looking forward to developing my skills further with Pure Outdoor, an excellent choice.

Jonathan Weetman

Beginner Climbing Course

September 12th, 2011

Brilliant climbing intro, will be back

Brilliant weekend climbing on the beginner's course, with unfamiliar gear and lingo feeling second nature after just a few hours with Guy. Started with a brief intro at the centre, then got stuck in to some blinding climbs, where I learnt as we climbed and never felt out of my depth or under-challenged. Guy judged the group's ability and eagerness perfectly, and read the ever-threatening weather to a tee. Cannot wait to get back to the Peak, just need the arms to start working again first.

Charmaine Pollock

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

September 02nd, 2011

Wonderful Experience

My husband and I had a great experience on the two day course. It was professionally run, everything was well explained, the location was beautiful and we really felt our confidence with navigation grow. We will definitely be back for the intermediate course.

I Murray

Family Rock Climbing Adventure

August 29th, 2011

Last Minute Booking

Wife and kids were going to visit family so that gave me a last minute chance to get some climbing in. Rang round course providers in the Peak area. As you might expect all courses had booked up some time ago so that wasn't going to happen. I was offered private instruction sessions by two other companies but they were quoting me silly rates for a day. Rang 'Pure Outdoor' and spoke to Guy who started talking sensible rates for a one day bespoke climbing session with an instructor. I then managed to find a climbing friend to join me on the course, so I could share the cost of the instruction and the fuel up to the Peak, result! Arrived at 'Pure Outdoor', met Guy who introduced us to our instructor for the day, Nathan. We shared ideas and the decision was made to head over to Stanage. Weather looked as if it could go either way, but eventually the clouds cleared and the sun came out. Nathan our instructor gave us clear and detailed explanations of the techniques we wanted to learn and we had plenty of opportunities to use them. Top marks for the day. Would have been nice to have had 2 or 3 days, but time and funds did not allow. Would definitely use 'Pure Outdoor' again. Thanks to Guy and Nathan. Cheers.

Hannah Fisher

Beginner Climbing Course

August 28th, 2011

1:1 1 Day Beginner Climbing

Guy and Polly were professional while being approachable, friendly, enthusiatic and relaxed - all contributing to the confidence i felt with climbing and the progress i made during the day.

Nick Wray

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

August 24th, 2011

Grand day out

What a great day, Gerald was great going at the right pace for me and very happy to go over things a few times if not picked up first time.The whole day was very informative and I learnt a great deal and now have the skills and confidence to navigate. Think I will do the silver course now.

Chris Delf

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

August 17th, 2011

Intermediate Navigation - Peak District

Had a great weekend on the intermediate navigation course. Andy is a very knowledgeable instructor with a friendly, relaxed manner to teach us the skills we need. Likewise, on Sunday, Gerald gave us the benefit of his extensive knowledge and experience whilst assessing us. With ample opportunity to demonstrate what we'd learnt up on Kinder Scout (where else?!), all in all it made a great two days in the hills. Recommended! Thanks very much.

Jane Hoyle

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

August 09th, 2011

Beginner Navigation Course

Have just returned from 2 day Beginner Navigation Course in the Peak District and would just like to say how much I enjoyed it. Although I have done quite a lot of walking, I would have to say, until now, I have mainly been following the person in front! The course was a lot of fun, and Andy, the instructor, was excellent. I feel I learnt a lot on the course, and crucially now feel much more confident about going out and giving it a go. The company says it will accomodate anyone preferring to travel by public transport by providing lifts where necessary and they were certainly true to their word on this too.

Clare Berry

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

August 09th, 2011

beginners navigation

excellent 2 days with the course, tailored to the group. Very informative and well planned. small group size ideal and very friendly atmosphere. Well planned. Can find nothing to fault - it was great.would definatley recommend this course and plan to do the next level in the future. Thanks

Chris Hearnshaw

Single Pitch Award Refresher

August 03rd, 2011

SPA refresher

The instructor was very knowledgable and extremely helpful, the contents of the course was extremely informative and gave me confidence in going forward to the assessment. Highly Recommended!

Dan Hughes

Beginner Climbing Course

July 26th, 2011

Fantstic weekend, will definitely be back

This was mine and my girlfriends first time climbing. Guy and Andy were both excellent teachers with a ton of knowledge. We did 14 climbs each over the two days and thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. I'm definitely hooked on climbing now, and have already started looking for my own gear!

Peter Bradley

Learn To Lead Climb Course (5 Day)

July 21st, 2011

Good teaching, good routes and good fun.

A fast paced 5 days that covered everything required with well structured opportunities to put it all into practice.

Chris Dent

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

July 11th, 2011

Review

Great day with Guy. Very informative with lots of opportunity to practice the techniques being taught. And a terrific day's walking in some stunning Peak District scenery. Pure Outdoor seems a very well run company with an excellent website. The approach throughout is very relaxed. Chris Dent.

Adrian Cahill

Beginner Climbing Course

June 20th, 2011

Would recommend...

A really enjoyable couple of days spent around Burbage, Stanage Edge etc trying bouldering and top-rope climbing with three others (including my son)and Guy leading. The course fully met my expectations and I would recommend it for beginners or anyone wanting to try outdoor climbing for the first time. We got to try some quite challenging climbs during the two days, and the rain held off most of the time despite the low hanging clouds. Great scenery and nice to get outside for a couple of days.

Alan Cool

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

June 18th, 2011

Intermediate Navigation in the Lake District - May 28th & 29th

Attended this course in the Lake District as a follow up to the previous winter course based in the Cairngorms in order to consolidate the Navigation skills learnt there and this 2 day course did not dissapoint. The course routes were obviously well planned by Guy and all expected content was well covered with each member of the team acting as leader for a section of the route to prove that the methods were understood. Weather was wet and windy and at times visibility was really quite poor which was perfect for Navigation Skills. Already Booked on the Advanced (Gold) Navigation course later in the year and really looking forward to it. I recommend this course as essential learning if you ever intend to get off the beaten track. Alan

Simon Pearce

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

June 13th, 2011

Excellent training - exceptional value!

Was looking for a training provider for some time and as soon as I landed on the Pure Outdoor website I knew I'd found the right team! Everything I needed to know was there, booking was simple and the training itself was exellent. The group size (6) was perfect and the trainer (Guy) really knew his stuff. We had one nice, sunny day and one miserable, rainy day but have learnt so much about navigation. Would highly recommend.

Dillon James

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

May 22nd, 2011

Beginner Navigation

Great couple of days learning lots of new stuff. Second day it all came together and added bonus of one to one tuition with Andy who was very informative and helpful. I'm looking forward to putting everything into practice soon. Many Thanks Andy, Dillon.

John Wenman

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

May 10th, 2011

Great Course

Good instructors, VG the first day; great locations. Great course format and enjoyable (wouldn't be so good in the rain). Perhaps you could have let students lead more on day 2. Definitely worth it. Time and money well spent.

Chris Russell

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

May 08th, 2011

Intermediate Navigation

Excellent weekend Intermediate Navigation Course. Weather great, course leader (Simon) very knowledgable and enthusiastic. Stayed in Torver at Church House Inn - very good. Excellent all round.

Alan Reed

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

May 02nd, 2011

Intermediate Navigation

Excellent course, well presented. Excellent instructor, Simon, who explained and reviewed everything to ensure you had understood the concepts. Would recommend it. Only concern was the quality of the laminated maps we used as they were a little difficult to interpret due to the print quality.

Paul Knight

Winter Skills Course (Week)

May 02nd, 2011

Want to go up those hills? Get your winter skills!

The winter skills week was a fantastic and fun week and one which I would highly recommend. As I arrived in Avimore I was pleased to see the mountains and the ground conditions didn’t disappoint. The Cairngorm mountain range was vast and there was plenty of snow and ice so lots of opportunity to ‘get spikey’ as it later became known. During the week I recall following only a few paths and we mainly spent our time ascending steeper mountain sides making full use of our ice axes and crampons. We were fortunate to have some fantastically sunny weather, which, coupled with the snowy landscape, made for some epic views. The course gave me a real opportunity to put my kit and myself to the test and it was great to get off the beaten track. We were making our own tracks. After a week of hiking, navigating, self arrest, digging and rope work I feel more confident than ever. The course was a perfect introduction into the world of winter mountaineering and has given me the desire to learn the many other aspects of enjoying myself in the winter hills. The course had a good balance of the learning of skills and the opportunity to explore the Cairngorms. The course was professionally run but very laid back which made it all the more enjoyable. I'd like to thank Guy and Liam for a great week. See you on the 'beginners rock climbing' course soon.

Deena Lawrence

Private Booking

April 27th, 2011

A day at Stanage Edge - Peak District

Guy was a fantastic choice for our first UK day out climbing. He handled everything professionally and well, and was particularly good at splitting his energy between myself as a beginner and my partner, an experienced climber. He was straightforward and he was particularly good at the balance between imparting knowledge and being heavy handed with his instruction. We had a great day out and would recommend Guy and Pure Outdoor to anyone in future.

Simon Brooks

Learn To Lead Climb Course (3 Day)

April 11th, 2011

Learning to Lead Three Day Course

Three baking hot days of beautiful grit stone. Although our course was shorter than the standard five day leading course we managed to fit it all the basic skills for single pitch trad climbing. Guy was enthusiastic, encouraging and easy going.

Susan Manns

Mountain Leader Award Refresher

April 11th, 2011

Summer ML refresher - ropework and steep ground skills

Really appreciated the 1:1 refresher session on steep ground work and basic rope work prior to my summer ML assessment. Andy was great and really built my confidence in an area of the ML course which I have not had much practice in and offered some simple tips and advice on scenarios which might be faced on assessment.

Helen Atkinson

Outdoor Rock Climbing Taster Day

April 11th, 2011

Climbing in the Peaks

Excellent day climbing; really great fun! I'd recommend it to any first time outdoor climber.

Helen Wright

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

April 11th, 2011

2 day Navigation Course, Peak District

Thanks for a great weekend! The weather was brilliant and we all really enjoyed ourselves. The group size was good, the tutor very patient and knowledgeable, the area diverse and interesting. Couldn't fault it. It has given me the confidence to go out walking independently. Will enroll for more courses in the future.

Mark Fennell

Beginner Climbing Course

April 04th, 2011

Aching but happy!

Had a really enjoyable day on Saturday at Stanage for some first-time rock climbing. Harder work than I was expecting but very satisfying feeling at the end of the day - even though I didn't manage to complete the last few climbs. Maybe if I was 20 years younger and 4 stones lighter... I deserved a pint or two afterwards! Very friendly group, fantastic scenery and beautiful weather. Thanks - I might be be in touch about scrambling at some point!

Dan Withers

Learn To Lead Climb Course (3 Day)

March 31st, 2011

My introduction to Grit.

I booked this course quite last minute, and I was the only person on it. Great! 1:1 tuition with Guy was fantastic and I was able to learn a lot in a short period of time. We visited 3 crags, did loads of routes (including a fair few classics) and by day 2 I was leading some routes as well. The course was well organised and delivered professionally. Guy is a good laugh and v. friendly. I highly recommend this course to climbers with some indoor experience who want to move outdoors. Guy even drove me to Sheffield train station afterwards! I'll find an excuse to book with PO again.

Lisa Wright

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

March 28th, 2011

Beginner Navigation Course 26th/27th March 2011

A big thank you for a fantastic two day course. I have gained lots of new skills that I hope to put to use very soon. Such an enjoyable two days would defiantly recommend this to others. Hope to book some future adventures soon. Thank you for a lovely weekend. Lisa.

Brian Hughes

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

March 28th, 2011

Beginers Navigation Course

Found the course brilliant for a complete beginer. Everything was explained in great detail and executed the practical theory on the Derbyshire Hills with such excellence.

Amy Parker

Mountain Leader Award Refresher

March 27th, 2011

ML Refresher

Great day! Guy covered rope work and navigation giving us lots of opportunity to practise both aspects throughout the day. We got to ask lots of questions and left the course knowing what we need to practise before an assessment! Cheers!

Amy Parker

Single Pitch Award Refresher

March 27th, 2011

Spa refresher

Fantastic day! The instructor showed us a great technique for setting up. Was given the chance to set up in different locations and received useful feedback on what I was doing. Left the course feeling much more confident with set ups. Thanks again!

Alexander Bergin

Single Pitch Award Refresher

March 23rd, 2011

SPA refresher

Excellent day out. A comprehensive refresher with some good new techniques and a lot of fun. Cheers, Alex

Stuart Davies

Intermediate Climbing Course

March 14th, 2011

Great Intro to Climbing

Great course which helped give me the extra confidence needed to successfully try climbing! The instructor is very helpful and clear and I would say this is an essential to anyone who even thinks they have a basic level of skill because you'll definately learn something!

Mark Ainsworth

Single Pitch Award Refresher

March 14th, 2011

Excellent SPA Refresher

Many thanks for an excellent day. Learnt a lot on new techniques and good practice. Will definately be doing more courses in the future

Dan Eves

Duke Of Edinburgh Staff Training

March 03rd, 2011

Peak district staff training

Guy organized a course very closely matched to our needs, covering navigation, how to teach navigation, emergency use of a rope and emergency situations. Even many of the old hands learnt some new tricks, and the emergency scenarios were a very useful, and got everybody thinking of the wider issues of looking after casualties and a group. The organisation was very professional, with very slick timings.

Matthew Hepwood

Winter Skills Course (Weekend)

February 28th, 2011

Great first experience in the snow

Thanks to Guy and Dave for a great experience on the winter skills weekend. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking to branch out inro winter walking. This will give you the confidence you need to tackle the snow yourself. The course is well thought out, and the bunk house acts as a friendly base for the trip as long as you aren't expecting luxury. Thanks again. Matt Hepwood

Phil Windsor

Winter Skills Course (Week)

February 25th, 2011

5 days of mountain fun

From day one we were throwing in the deep end, with high winds battering the Cairngorms, we had to learn fast. Both Guy and Dave inspired confidence and knowledge making it easy to pick up new skills and feel safe even in the numerous white out conditions we had over the week. Although the course is structure into days where skills would be learned, I found that the instructors would introduce skills on the mountain if the situation suited, which was excellent, providing real experience of when to use a particular skill. A good example of that was getting off the summit of Cairngorm where we were introduced into pacing and to correctly judge the distance without falling off a cornice 600m away. This was an invaluable experience of getting out of a tricky situation. The final day with Stu was just as good we went through more Nav and some of the more advance tips and skills you can use for locating yourself on a mountain, such as slope aspect. All in all a great course, providing lots of information and real life skill, that are easily absorbed from the Instructors who all made it a fun and exciting as well as challenging week.

Liam Snodden

Winter Skills Course (Week)

February 24th, 2011

What an excellent experience!

What can I say? This is the second course that I have been on with Pure Outdoor and Guy and his team keep exceeding my expectations. Guy and Dave and the Pure Outdoor team have an excellent teaching method and I really got the full benefit from the course. Really can't speak highly enough of the course which was made even better by the great people and the instructors. I enjoyed it and leant so much that I've just booked myself onto the Morocco trip in October. Guy/Dave, thanks for an asolutely excellent and educational week - I've even perfected the art of brewing my own cup of 'Man Up'!!!!!!!

Alan Cool

Winter Skills Course (Week)

February 20th, 2011

Winter Skills (Week)

Was very pleased with the content of this course, the weather was good to us (with respect to the course) as we experienced it all from rain through whiteouts to snow and high winds all with freeze thaw snow cover. Guy made sure the course was safe yet flexible enough for us to detour to Ben Nevis for a day to put all of our new learned skills into practice and the Ben threw it all at us including a proper whiteout with extreme conditions, a great navigation opportunity. I cannot praise this company enough. In fact I am currently booking a Navigation Course to consolidate what we have already learnt on this course. Excellent!!!!

Penny Stevens

Mountain Skills Course

February 15th, 2011

Great Balance

Great course, just the right balance of information and practice to ensure you are no longer getting lost :). Will definitely be back!

Gill Lewis

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

February 14th, 2011

Right Way in a Day Navigation Course

Thank you for a most enjoyable day. For the first time in my life I now have a better idea on how to use a compass instead of just looking at it and thinking it really must be a useful piece of equipment! I was impressed with your intuitive awareness of all course members, skilfully pitching the learning outcomes appropriately. I was a little apprehensive prior to attending this course wondering if the day would be too strenuous for a middle aged, albeit reasonably fit 'wrinkly'. I soon found my fears to be unfounded and I was particularly impressed with your consideration for all members of the group. I wish you every success for the future.

Jo Horlick

Introduction To Winter Climbing

February 04th, 2011

Introduction to Winter Climbing

Thank you very much for our fantastic 3 days bespoke winter skill course, you covered everything we wanted and more. We had all the weather conditions you could ask for, so you were able to teach us a lot. We cant wait for the next one, thanks again Jo and Dean

D Mike Gimblett

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

January 31st, 2011

Excellent Day

I am so pleased I went on this course, Becky who was the course trainer provided us with lots of information, An enjoyable day was had by all, despite the weather being bitterly cold.. I will never look at a map the same way again. I learnt a great deal and would recommend this course to all who enjoy walking...Thanks again. Mike Gimblett

Liam Irving

A Dream Of White Horses

January 29th, 2011

Gogarth Climbing

This was a wonderful climbing experience which was only made possible by Guy's incredible climbing instruction. Two abseils and four pitches of exposed climbing, guided safely, professionally and confidently allowed us to conquer this classic climb. I could not recommend Pure Outdoor highly enough.

Darren Mcmaster

Winter Skills Course (Weekend)

January 24th, 2011

A top course and a top Guy!

A great refresher of the skills learned on the beginners course that I took the year before, and plenty of new skills learned too. Also familiarised with the coire, which has given me the confidence to go back by myself next year knowing that I will have some idea of what's what instead of having rely on someone else to tell me! Overall, really enjoyable and informative, and a good laugh too! I would happily recommend to a friend.

Martin Tozer

Advanced Navigation Course | Gold Nnas Training

December 17th, 2010

Gold NNAS Course 16-17 December 2010

Another great couple of days out with Guy! Putting into practice all the skills learnt on Silver plus a bit more - including night navigation. Really wild weather out on the Dark Peak. Not easy handling the map and compass when your hands are totally numb but we found everything we were looking for and got back in one piece! All the theory has now been well demonstrated and learnt - just down to practice and more experience now - especially in the dark. Thanks again Guy.

Jane Ginn

Right Way In A Day Navigation Course

December 05th, 2010

Lost ! Not anymore

What a great course. Guy taught us the basics of map reading and we found it so enlightening and we will definitely be able to put our newly acquired knowledge to good use when out walking. We found the whole day really enjoyable and can highly recommend it.

Jon Everitt

Winter Skills Course (Week)

December 03rd, 2010

I hadn't realised how little I knew

I hadn't realised how little I knew until I went on this course! Just come back from a reallly good 5 days on Winter Skills Week and found it invaluable. I'd highly recommend this course if you want to feel safe on the hills.

Janet Williams

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

December 03rd, 2010

Beginner Navigation Training

Thanks so much Guy, Had a marvelous time. Just the right balance between information and opportunity to practice and get it right. The weekend was challenging and fun. If I ever get lost in the fog again then it won't be Guy's fault!

David Simpson

Beginner Navigation Course | Bronze Nnas

December 03rd, 2010

Beginner Navigation Course

Great course which helped give me the extra confidence needed to successfully navigate! The instructor is very helpful and clear and i would say this is an essential to anyone who even thinks they have a basic level of skill because you'll definitely learn something!

Helen Peters

Winter Skills Course (Week)

December 03rd, 2010

Great Outdoor Company!!!

We spent a day with an instructor from Pure Outdoor. We had a great time learning new techniques and skills. Our instructor was really friendly and helpful. The company's boss is super enthusiastic and accommodating. I'd recommend this company to anyone, anytime! Can't rave about them enough!

Darren Machen

Right Way In A Day

December 02nd, 2010

GroupOn Right Way in a Day Course 28/11/10

Fantastic day on Eyam Moor, now much more confident to venture into the unknown with my map, compass and a set of good boots. Very informative but still relaxed and enjoyable. Will be back in the future to book more training!

Alison Gibb

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

December 01st, 2010

Intermediate Navigation

The weather delivered rain, snow, frost, sun and blue sky. The course was well structured and organised and completely met all my expectations. I feel that I can now walk in unfamiliar surroundings without worrying that I will become completely lost; but if I do get lost, I have the knowledge to get myself back on track. I had a fabulous time.

Martin Tozer

Intermediate Navigation Course | Silver Nnas

December 01st, 2010

Silver NNAS Course Review

After many years of hillwalking and mountaineering, mainly dependent on the navigation skills of others, I decided it was time to get to grips properly with the mysteries of the OS map as I want to go out more on my own - and into more remote areas too. I went straight for the Silver course. A ratio of 1 instructor to 6 students was ideal and Guy ensured we all understood each part of the course before moving on to the next point. Everything was thoroughly explained in a logical fashion and we got the chance during the final stages of the course to lead a section of a walk ourselves. I went out the weekend after on my own and was thoroughly confident in my own ability to map read and navigate over some difficult terrain. I wish I hadn't spent so much on a Garmin now!! Looking forward to the Advanced Navigation course in a few weeks now!

Visa paymentsVisa payments

Secure Payments

Pure Outdoor AMI Member Logo

Qualified & Experienced Instructors

Pure Outdoor AALS Licensed

AALS Licensed

Pure Outdoor on FacebookPure Outdoor on Twitter

Quick Enquiry


Pure Outdoor Ltd. Company No.07674945 VAT No.232241551 Website Terms & Conditions : Website Privacy Policy : Site built by Alpine Web Design